Poyo’s Picks for June 21st, 2017

That time has come once again. We all lived to see another comic book Wednesday. In the past week we all learned that people care about Batman proposing to Catwoman, even though we all know it’s not gonna happen. People are gobbling up the 3rd print, that will have a bazillion copies so Poyo’s advice is, buy one for the personal collection, not to flip. Everyone’s gonna be flipping this one and the market will be swamped is my prediction.

What else is new? Well, that’s why you come and read this article every week, (where Shawn B. will tell us all how wrong I was a year from now).

So let’s get on with the picks, I’ve been right a few times I think..

DC/Vertigo Pick

All-Star Batman #11 (DC) – All the covers. I think this is the first time in a very long time that I might pick up every single cover of one book, due to just the cover art.

Marvel Pick

Star Wars Darth Maul #4 (Marvel) Francavilla Variant – I’m a sucker for Francavilla artwork. It’s a must pickup for the personal collection. Might not be a flip or spec but it for fans of both Darth Maul and Francavilla, it’s a must have.

Nothing stood out this week for Indie Picks so I’m gonna pick a few Small Publisher picks that might have potential or do have potential.

Small Publisher Picks

Shirtless Bear Fighter #1 (Image) – This just looks fun. Can’t wait. Try to nab the nude cover for cheap. And yeah, it’s male nudity, no shame in trying to go after some nude male covers.

Crosswind #1 (Image) – A new ongoing series from Simone and Staggs. They claime it’s Freaky Friday meets Goodfellas. I loved Goodfellas so count me in on a definite check out.

Black Hammer #10 (Dark Horse) – This is that book everyone needs to read. If your not reading it, well, get out of here and never come back. This is by far one of my favorite books in the past year. I mean, it’s up there with Saga, Walking Dead, Chew.. it’s the book you just can’t get enough of and I want more. This week there’s a Liefeld spoof cover and while it’s awesome, every issue so far the cover art has been awesome.

A CHU favorite is ending. God Country #6 hits stands this week to conclude the mini-series. Dump your books now if you are holding onto most, now’s the time. Maybe hold a few #1’s but when most mini series end, the heat and spec die. I’m happy to announce I dumped all my lot sets for some very decent beer money for NYC coming up in October.

That’s all I got. Love’em, hate’em, either way, I’m still gonna sleep good tonight.

Advertisements

About Anthony

Collector of comics for 30 years.
This entry was posted in Comic books. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Poyo’s Picks for June 21st, 2017

  1. A. King says:

    Good job on dumping your God Country set’s before it’s too late.

  2. Cyber Golem says:

    Ya I sold some God Country no 1 sets for 100 bucks each when issue 3 came out. Oh NICE!

    • agentpoyo says:

      You know what’s weird, both local shops I visit have almost all issues except #3. One still has 4th prints of #1, plenty of #2 first and second prints, zero #3, even 2nd prints.. but plentiful #4 and #5 copies..

  3. dave says:

    no way I am getting rid of them. this will be optioned…god country will

    • agentpoyo says:

      It could, save a few for the possible option, but then dump I say. The amount of books and such that get optioned and never make it to our screens is astounding.

      • Anthony says:

        Never anything wrong with taking the money and running. I do have so many comics that I am hoping that get optioned

      • agentpoyo says:

        Yup…. I say dump when you can. I have tons of books I thought would get optioned or heat up after getting optioned, they are all worthless now. Some got dumped at half price books for pennies on the dollar. You never know when the right time to dump to make mad profit but if you know you can dump and make profit, that’s the best time I think.

Comments are closed.