August Previews 2019 – Indies Spotlight Books

Vampire State Building #2 (Cover A – Adlard) – Ablaze Media

The vampire god U’tlun’ta has awoken from his long slumber and turned the Empire State Building and its trapped victims within into a massive feeding ground… each body consumed slowly bringing back his full power.

Vampire State Building #2 (Cover C - Bernard)With the rescue S.W.A.T. team decimated upon contact with the vampire horde, and Terry and his friends trapped 80 floors up, is there any hope for escape?

I haven’t read issue #1 yet, as I never got any advanced review copies but I’m really hoping this series is a fun read.

I’m also hoping it brings out the best in Adlard’s work, now that he’s free from Walking Dead deadlines. Hopefully he can bounce back with some better art as I feel the pressure of the ongoing Walking Dead work oppressed his actual potential.

As a reader of Walking Dead, you can see the quality of the covers and interiors start to slide over time during that series.


Void Walker #1 – Alterna Comics

Clinging to life, hitman Parker Ingram bonds with an ancient creature and the Voidwalker is born.

With his sights set on a blood-soaked path of revenge and destruction, the wall between our world and the Beyond is ready to fall.

I love these Alterna books. Not only are they cheap but usually great reads.

I sort of call them my bathroom reads nowadays when I pick them up. Not only do they save you money but since they use newsprint, the smell brings back that nostalgia from the 80s childhood reading comics.


Wolvenheart #1 (of 6) – Mad Cave Studios

Led by the legendary professor Van Helsing, Wolvenheart is an organization dedicated to monitoring anomalies in the space-time continuum.

After the group is infiltrated and decimated by a cabal of history’s most infamous villains, led by the most notorious serial killer of the 16th century, Elizabeth Bathory, Sterling Cross, the organization’s most prolific monster slayer, winds up trapped in an alternate reality where his only choice is to fight his way through time and change the course of history!

For fans of Doctor Who, Castlevania, Penny Dreadful, and League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

This one isn’t usually my style of book but I can see it as a book that might attract those who are into Doctor Who and such. It’s worth looking into though I think.


Beyond the Demon the Sea Oneshot – Source Point Press

This horrific love story is unlike any comic you’ve read!

Follow one man’s story of his tragic journey across the sea, told through a gorgeous sequence of artwork hand painted in the style of classic nautical tattoos.

I love the hand painted stories and sea adventure type stories are always captivating to me.

It’s a definite book to check out. I don’t expect it to heat up, it’s just a book to pick up to read and admire what I hope is some awesome artwork for the interiors.

 


D Ward #1 Cover A – Keenspot

As a child, Zander Wylie experienced a horrific event which led him to a career in psychology.

Starting his new job working with an old friend, the patients and inmates of the hospital will change his life forever.

Personal demons can be more real than you think… meet the inhabitants of The D Ward.

This one reminded me of Straitjacket. Psych ward type of horror story that make for great shows and movies.

It’s not ground breaking original stories but if they got a certain twist to them, they always draw me in to read.

 


Midnight Sky #2 (Cover A – Van Domelen) – Scout Comics

For over a decade the world has been at war with an invisible, secret enemy that is undetectable because they look like everyone else.

What would your friends do or say when they discover that your children aren’t what they appear to be?

Jennifer finds herself in this dilemma when her son Alejandro’s true identity is revealed to her fellow survivors horded up in their refuge in a former bank in south Tampa. To make matters worse, her daughter, Elita, a half-breed decides to take matters into her own hands and the results are cataclysmic.

Featuring two covers by series artist Scott Van Domelen, including an Invasion of the Body Snatchers homage.

I read the first issue already (expect a big sneak peek soon) and I must admit, while reading I was wondering where this book was going. It started off kind of slow and almost lost my interest until the ending of the first issue.

So I’m hoping it continues to build going into issue #2 and beyond.


Money Shot #1 (Cover A – Isaacs) – Vault Comics

In the near future, space travel is ludicrously expensive and largely ignored. Enter Christine Ocampos, inventor of the Star Shot teleportation device.

Domino Lady Money Shot Prose NovelHer big idea: She’ll travel to new worlds, engage-intimately-with local aliens, and film her exploits for a jaded earth populace trying to find something new on the internet.

Money Shot #1 (Cover B - Tim Daniel)Now, Chris and her merry band of scientist-cum-pornstars explore the universe, each other, and the complexities of sex in MONEY SHOT! A story about scientists having sex with aliens for the glory of mankind-and money.

Did Vault Comics hire Blind Adam? If you’re not sure what the term “Money Shot” stands for, well, don’t google it if you’re at work.

Not sure most will be ready if they start doing look ups on the internet for this book, it might generate some unwanted findings and images. Search at your own risk.

 

Pages ( 2 of 2 ): « Prev1 2

Leave a Comment