Brubaker and Phillips Knock Us Down With Pulp and now Cruel Summer Graphic Novels

Pulp is a graphic novel I’ve been really looking forward to from Brubaker and Phillips. Now we get Cruel Summer as well, which looks great spinning off from their award winning series Criminal world of stories.



The multiple Eisner Award winning creative powerhouse behind such hits as My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies (highly recommended read if you haven’t already read it) and Bad Weekend—Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips—are back with twice the content in the forthcoming original graphic novel tale of ’30s era crime—Pulp—and the upcoming Criminal collected edition Cruel Summer. Both graphic novel hardcovers will be available from Image Comics this Summer, in July and August respectively.

A darkly mysterious meditation on a life of violence, Pulp is unlike anything the award-winning team of Brubaker and Phillips have ever done. A celebration of pulp fiction, set in a world on the brink. It follows Max Winters, a pulp writer in 1930s New York, who finds himself drawn into a story not unlike the tales he churns out at 5 cents a word—tales of a wild west outlaw dispensing justice with a six-gun. But will Max be able to do the same, when pursued by bank robbers, Nazi spies, and enemies from his past? Find out in this must-have thriller from one of comics’ most acclaimed creative teams, perfect for fans of The Fade Out and Criminal.

Similar to the recent hit collected hardcover edition, Bad Weekend, the upcoming Cruel Summer hardcover will collect a complete story installment from the ongoing Criminal series and incorporate bonus behind-the-scenes content. Set in the summer of ’88, Cruel Summer follows Teeg Lawless, a man who comes home to plan the biggest heist of his career. But Teeg’s son Ricky and his friends are starting down the same dark path their fathers are on, and this is about to become the worst summer of their lives.

Pulp hardcover edition (ISBN: 978-1-5343-1644-7) will be available on Wednesday, July 29 and in bookstores on Tuesday, August 4. It can be pre-ordered at your local comic book shop or independent bookstore, or on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, IndieBound, and Indigo.

Cruel Summer hardcover edition (ISBN: 978-1-5343-1643-0) will be available on Wednesday, August 12 and in bookstores on Tuesday, August 18. It can be pre-ordered at your local comic book shop or independent bookstore, or on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, IndieBound, and Indigo. (Not yet available on pre-orders).

Here’s some sneak peek preview pages for Pulp (currently only $11.89 pre-order at TFAW):

 

5 thoughts on “Brubaker and Phillips Knock Us Down With Pulp and now Cruel Summer Graphic Novels”

    1. I was gonna remark how funny it is that Alana is hijacking another thread to give herself a pat on the back, but yeah, where is the article on Jackpot today? Maybe Anthony doesn’t have a copy yet lol.

      It’s more interesting than Ed entering a fourth decade of trying to make noir comics a thing, I guess.

      1. I know I hijack a lot of threads I’m sorry, I really try and control myself from doing so. I like to keep new info at the top where it’s more likely to be read and utilized than in a Wednesday pickups article buried half way down the page. I know Anthony is a busy person and he can’t always take the time to put something up quickly specially being a con season with no cons so all the summer movie and tv spec info trickles in at different times instead of a big dump at SDCC, D20, NYCC. But I had to pat myself on the back for that one the article was titled “The Future Is Here”

        1. I don’t have a problem with you posting in the most recent.

          Maybe start a topic on the forums and link to it in the comments. This is a reason why we started the forums, people wanted a place to post and yet we only got a handful of people contributing to it. I would love the forums to take off though.. it gives everyone a voice on CHU and to kick off discussions.

Leave a Comment