Final Order Cut-Off Highlights for 2/10/2020

Final Order Cut-Off is the last day that shops can guarantee their orders for comics. After Final Order Cut-Off, or FOC, these books will only be available to retailers on Advance Reorder. And that is not guaranteed. So here are the highlights for Monday, 2/10/20’s FOC list.

INDY

CROW LETHE #1 CVR A MOMOKO – Had this one listed a few weeks back. Just an awesome regular cover on a book that will surely be a small print run.

MIRKA ANDOLFO MERCY #1 – Love Andolfo’s work. Shooting for the Artgerm Cover myself. A sensual Victorian gothic horror about otherness, damnation, redemption, and what it means to be a monster in a horror tale perfect for fans of Penny Dreadful, Crimson Peak, The Alienist, Parasol Protectorate, and Dark Shadows.

KING OF NOWHERE #1 – Eisner Award-nominated writer W. Maxwell Prince (Ice Cream Man) comes to BOOM! Studios with Eisner-nominated artist Tyler Jenkins (Grass Kings, Black Badge) for an unforgettable thriller that explores the miraculous, the mundane, and all the mysteries in between. Lovable drunken lowlife Denis awakens on the outskirts of a mysterious village called Nowhere, home to a friendly populace of deformed, mutated, just-left-of-normal citizens-and he has no memory of how he got there. But just when Denis starts to regain his memories, his past catches up to him… literally. What at first seems like merely a bad trip quickly heightens into a drama of mistaken identities, small-town conspiracy, and high-stakes fantasy fulfillment.

JOIN THE FUTURE #1 – JOIN THE FUTURE is a sci-fi western that examines a future where everyone must ask what your values are truly worth. Written by Zack Kaplan with art from Piotr Kowalski

OUTER DARKNESS CHEW #1 – Chew returns to comics for this cross over with Outer Darkness.

SWEET HEART #1 – Seriously creepy looking new Action Lab series. The story takes place about 20 minutes up the road from me so I am in for this one. Being hunted is an everyday risk in Ellicott City and the town itself is designed to make life comfortable for its citizens while being actively stalked by the eerie- insatiable creatures that live among them. But when Ben is chosen by one of the creatures near his home- his mother struggles to cope with the certainty of her son’s death.

CIMMERIAN QUEEN OF BLACK COAST #1 – Some great covers on this book. I can say the art on the interior is almost cartoonish at times. By Crom! For the first time, Robert E. Howard’s Conan is brought to life uncensored! Discover the true Conan, unrestrained, violent, and sexual. Read the story as he intended! Pursued for killing a judge, Conan finds refuge on a merchant ship. But soon after setting sail, the Cimmerian and his new companions face a threat: the legendary Bêlit, self-proclaimed Queen of the Black Coast! Bonus Material: The original Robert E. Howard short story is included! Check out the Mirka Andolfo cover and the Action Comics Homage Cover

MARVEL

MARVEL #1 – A once-in-a-lifetime assemblage of talent telling stories set in the Marvel U and framed by an Alex Ross book end story.

BLACK CAT #10 – J Scott Campbell doing a Wolverine and Black Cat cover.

SPIDER-MAN NOIR #1 – MURDER AND MYSTERY IN THE MIGHTY MARVEL MANNER! DATELINE, 1939! As the specter of war looms on the horizon, SPIDER-MAN: NOIR fights the good fight at home, stopping the injustices of a more friendly-neighborhood variety. But after a dame is murdered at The Black Cat nightclub and all clues point overseas, Spidey will have no choice but to board the next flight to Europe and kick off a globetrotting adventure through yesteryear of the Marvel Universe!

STRANGE ACADEMY #1 – A ton of first appearances in a book that is a surprisingly good and fun read.

2020 RESCUE #1 – Pepper Potts moved on from Tony Stark. She’s getting her life together, finding her place in the world. Unfortunately, that’s exactly when Tony Stark decides it’s time for a full-tilt, full-blown meltdown. And if Pepper can’t suit up and save the day, Tony is toast.

DC

MYSTERY IN SPACE #75 FACSIMILE EDITION – Adam Strange meets the Justice League in this facsimile edition.

DOLLAR COMICS SWAMP THING #57 – Swamp Thing on the planet Rann and meets Adam Strange. For a $1

STRANGE ADVENTURES #1 – Tom King on something other than Batman can be a good thing. After winning five Eisner Awards and topping year-end ‘best of lists,’ the comic book of 2019 was Mister Miracle. The comic book of 2020 will be Strange Adventures. The Mister Miracle team of writer Tom King and artist Mitch Gerads are joined by fan-favorite artist Evan ‘Doc’ Shaner to bring you an epic tale in the tradition of Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns, and DC: The New Frontier-a story of blood, war, and love that readers will be talking about for years to come. Adam Strange is the hero of Rann, a man famous throughout the galaxy for his bravery and honor. After leading his adopted home to victory in a great planetary war, Adam and his wife Alanna retire to Earth, where they are greeted by cheers, awards, and parades. But not all is as happy and nice as it seems, as the decisions Adam made during battles on Rann come back to haunt his family and threaten the entire DC Universe. And now a surprise DC hero will have to choose between saving Adam Strange and saving the world. A story like no other, Strange Adventures is an ambitious, thrilling, shocking, and beautiful 12-issue saga that will push Adam Strange to the breaking point-and beyond!

Leave a Comment