Comics Picks of the Week for Delivery 7/22/15

Each week hundreds of new comics hit the shelves, each with potential. We pick the ones we think have the best shot at heating up. Here are our picks of the week for delivery 7/22/15.

Small Press Pick of the Week
Its a tie!
Mayday #4– Continues to sell out, good luck finding it in any of the big online stores, they are gone. Media deal in the works + small print run + good story and art = Success!
Disciples #2– Another Black Mask book, another media deal, another sell out book. Again, small print run + media deal+ good story and art= Success! (Wash, rinse, repeat.)

The New Image #1
Wolf #1– The preview for this looked good. It is also an oversized 58 page book for $4.99. Check out the description:

Bestselling new star writer ALES KOT teams up with white-hot artist MATT TAYLOR and DEADLY CLASS colorist extraordinaire LEE LOUGHRIDGE for an all-new ONGOING SERIES!

The crime noir thrills and characters reminiscent of True Detective meet with mythical stakes worthy of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman in this original fantasy/horror/crime saga for mature readers.

Antoine Wolfe, a hard-boiled paranormal detective with a death wish, has to cope with sudden responsibility for an orphaned teenage girl who might be the key to the impending apocalypse, California-style.

The road to hell and back begins in a MAX-SIZED FIRST ISSUE, with fifty-eight pages of story and no ads!

Worth the look.

The Outside Chance
Power Up #1– Boom has been getting a lot of media deals lately. This one should appeal to fans of Lumberjanes and Scott Pilgrim.

The Pick of the Week
Enormous Vol.2 #1– Sold out months ago at on-line retailers. A great jumping on point for those who haven’t read the book, or just got the trade paper back and want to continue the story. This will have a bigger print run than that of the previous #1, but many retailers do not carry the book (or have heard of it.) There are several variants for the book, Hoknes Comics Variant from our friend Terry Hoknes at www.hoknescomics.com (check with him first, he may still have copies.) ComicXposure Variants (again, check with ComicXposure as they have a codeword sale going on making these cheaper.) Also, three Comicon Art variants

The one from the bookshelf
Motorcycle Samurai– I have been looking forward to this since the FCBD issue came out. It is being called ‘the new benchmark for indie digital comics.’ Seriously cool, check it out.

That is it for us this week. Let us know what you are spec-ing on.

7 thoughts on “Comics Picks of the Week for Delivery 7/22/15”

  1. Also enourmous cover B is going to be hard to find as well. Still no luck finding it at the stores that I have called.

      1. Both shops I frequent had even number of each cover. Grabbed 2 of each. But they didn’t have many so I’m expecting low print numbers for sure.

    1. Disciples #1 2nd print is variant cover which is actually pretty sweet. I love when the 2nd prints have a different cover, makes it more enticing to snag.

Leave a Comment