Poyo’s Picks for August 16th, 2017


This is the crispy brown edition as I’m crispy, a few shades darker and dry from the beach trip this past weekend. With Tropical Storm Franklin making it’s way into Mexico, we benefited with larger waves, washing more sea shells ashore for the kiddos to gather but we had to be extra careful as the current was stronger, even I had a hard time holding my own out in the surf. But now I’m back and ready for this weeks picks.

DC/Vertigo

This one is a no brainer unless you don’t read the spoilers on this site. This weeks DC pick goes to Dark Nights Metal #1. It will have a huge print run. Yes, you will be able to find and secure copies. But don’t expect this one to heat up immediately. This one is a hold, then sell later on. If you can find the midnight black and white variant for cheap, grab and hold for now is Poyo’s advice. If the return of an unnamed character (for crying out loud, go read the spoilers so I can spoil it by naming names) sticks around, expect most fans of this character to seek this issue out for their collections.

Marvel Pick

I dislike Totally Awesome Hulk. I think he’s cheesy and I want Banner back. But that’s not going to stop me from a quick flip. Totally Awesome Hulk #22 is already selling well on the secondary market. So grab, list, sell.

Small Publisher Picks

This week I have two books to point out. Neither will be spec books or likely heat up but they’re picks based on reading and artwork. The first book is Mage The Hero Denied #1 (Image) from Matt Wagner. The 3rd volume that’s spanned decades. It’s a must pickup for fans of Matt Wagner and Mage.

The second book is Valiant’s Divinity. Volume 4 hits stands with Divinity #0. The first volume caught all kinds of heat but it’s cooled since then as most retailers caught on and have been ordering to meet demands. Divinity is my second favorite Valiant character behind X-O Manowar. Matt Kindt is becoming one of my favorite writers as well. So you can’t go wrong with Divinity.

Indie Pick

The Wicked Righteous #1 (Alterna Comics) – First of all, these news print $1.50 books are not getting the attention and love they deserve in my opinion. Secondly, did I mention they’re only $1.50? This book seems great and caught my attention long ago in Previews. If it doesn’t heat up (which I’m not counting on more than likely), I’m hoping for a great read.

From the description, “In post-apocalyptic San Diego, four teenage brothers rescue a young girl from a brutal gang of psychopaths and spark a chain of events that attracts an onslaught of unspeakable evil. This is the world of the Wicked and the Righteous… and the children will lead them all. Printed on newsprint.”

And that’s not all I got this time. I’m going to start something else new this week. I’m going to call it.. “Books to Avoid”. Yeah, a section dedicated to books I think you should either avoid altogether or wait to buy.

So the first book goes to Spy Seal by Rich Tommaso. I feel burned by his more recent book She Wolf and the Dark Corridor from a year or so back. I gave them each a chance and these books in my opinion fell flat on their writing. She Wolf was just a mess. It made zero sense and the art was just weird. Sure some might have found it appealing but my local shop can’t even get rid of their copies marked down to 50 cents currently. I’m sure they feel burned on this one as well. So with these recent books, I can’t recommend this new book. I hope I’m wrong but from Poyo’s perspective, this is a book to just avoid for now.

The second book I’m going to tell you to avoid is Sheena #0 from Dynamite. Honestly, I can’t recall the last Dynamite book to heat up. As much as I enjoy Marguerite Bennett’s Animosity from Aftershock, I just don’t see this series taking off, even with the first issue at 25 cents. Okay, for 25 cents you can pick up the regular cover to check out but what I will advise is for you to avoid paying the hefty premium prices on the 1:100 Campbell variant and the other variants, if you didn’t already pre-order them when Anthony posted the cheap link. Wait… wait some more.. if you wait long enough, you’ll find the Campbell variant for a much more desired price if you’re that huge a fan of Mary Jane with a different shade of hair color. Yeah, it’s Mary Jane as Sheena. That’s what some will pay $85 or more for, the same damn girl on a different title.

Now, that’s all folks. Love it, hate it, either way, I’m sleeping well tonight without a worry in the world.

Advertisements

About Anthony

Collector of comics for 30 years.
This entry was posted in Comic books. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Poyo’s Picks for August 16th, 2017

  1. Wells Floyd says:

    I was on the fence about the wicked righteous, but you won me over.

    • agentpoyo says:

      I actually got to read it tonight, with advanced digital copy. It’s actually pretty good, enough to make me want to pick up #2 to read.

      • Anthony says:

        You are welcome.

      • agentpoyo says:

        Guys, you got to help me. Anthony seems like a nice guy by providing me digital comics to read and review but he makes me read them, even when I don’t want to read them.. So please, help me guys, he’s making me do awful awful things so CHU keeps raking in the money off ads and selling comics while paying me with the pocket lint money residue of his mad profits from selling comic books..

      • Anthony says:

        Come work for CHU. All the free digital comics you can read. While I make all the filthy riches. Now I must quickly escape, to my Kia, and pilfer some more.

      • agentpoyo says:

        The Kia is just a disguise to throw us off.. don’t listen to him. 😛

      • Anthony says:

        No. It’s no disguise. My second one in a row. Quality car believe it or not. My wife has one too. She has a sorento and I have a Sportage.

      • Anthony says:

        They are parked in front of our mansion

      • agentpoyo says:

        You can find me poking my head out from the dungeon windows seldomly when Anthony leaves to buy comics, usually crying for help, mostly just sobbing like a baby. 😉

      • JayClue says:

        He may keep you in his mansions dungeon, but at least you’re an insider. That comes with more perks (or percs, perhaps), does it not?

      • Anthony says:

        No. It really doesn’t. Lol.

      • agentpoyo says:

        The only thing about “insider” being trapped in his mansion is that I’m “inside”.. if that’s a perk, then well, it’s not much of one. 🙂

      • Anthony says:

        I dont charge rent or make you pay for toilet paper… One ply only.

      • agentpoyo says:

        But you provide zero bandages for my blistered fingers from all the bag and boarding of your comics.

    • Richard Sean Guevara says:

      I wanted a copy of the wicked righteous after seeing it takes place in San Diego as I live here. But yeah nope my LCS didn’t order any.

  2. JayClue says:

    What does Animosity have to do with Sheena? I missed the connection there.

  3. J. Coleman says:

    mmmmmmmmmm…chicken

  4. JayClue says:

    I’ve sold a few Vampirellas and Red Sonjas, those JSC cover price variants that came out earlier this year, for about $10 or so. Dynamite ain’t all bad for speculators. I know they sold because they’re JSC and not because they’re Hot dynamite comics. the only JSC on my personal collection are his ASM covers that are in my ASM legacy run.

    • agentpoyo says:

      Yeah, buy JSC to flip but not at $85 like Midtown has it listed at.. you won’t do much flipping at that price. What I’m intending on that one is, wait to buy if you’re buying for the personal collection.

  5. Ken M. says:

    Spy Seal may have some value as a spec pick since, according to Tommaso, he has already been contacted about possibly turning this into an animated feature. I’ve never read anything by him, though, so don’t have anything to add to this.

    • agentpoyo says:

      Nope, avoid. If you think it does have a chance at getting optioned (with a really slim chance of it ever making it further than that), by that time you might find them already in your dollar bins at the local shop. Sorry, I just can’t show any love for Tommaso, he’s let me down with all his books thus far.. She Wolf was highly recommended by my local shop when it came out.. such a terrible terrible book and letdown. This book was so bad, my local shop I think stopped buying them after issue #3 or #4 and if they did happen to buy them, they might of just put them in people’s pull folders cause I never saw them on the shelves after such issues cause I had no idea it even made it to #8…

  6. John T. says:

    I like the new specs to avoid list! That is a great idea. Hope you continue that.

    • agentpoyo says:

      Sweet.. Glad someone enjoyed them. Yeah, I’m gonna try and add it each week.

      I know selling and flipping is about making money but we all know each week there are books that are both a) not flip worthy, b) not worth the cover or inflated variant price and c) possibly not even worthy picking up to just read.

      So these new “avoid” picks will be classified as such I think..

Comments are closed.