Poyo’s Trade and Hardcover Picks of the Week

We shouldn’t just collect or flip books, we should also read them. A good story can make your purchase well worth the money spent if you ask me. After all, we buy books to read for entertainment right? Even if you can’t flip them, reading is just as rewarding.

We tend to focus on mostly the floppy copies each week and kind of ignore the trades and hardcovers that come out week after week.

These can be one off books, collected editions or special editions. I go into these picks of mostly just the solicitations provided from the publishers. These are the ones that caught my attention coming out this week or within the next couple of weeks.

Love classic Batman stories.


Batman the Golden Age TPB Vol 06

The adventures of Batman and Robin reach the mid-1940s with these tales, collected in trade paperback for the first time.

In these stories from the pages of Batman #21-25, Detective Comics #82-92, and World’s Finest Comics #12-14, the Dynamic Duo stop a gang of cattle rustlers, untangle the upside-down crimes of The Joker, and face a gang of crooks who use football plays to inspire their crimes.


I love a good crime book.

Over My Dead Body Trade

A prison warden’s daughter has fallen in with a separatist militia, and the warden’s only chance to rescue her is his most dangerous inmate: the notorious contract killer, Markham. Markham claims that a near-death experience convinced him to atone for his past sins, and to start saving lives instead of taking them.

This may be Markham’s one last shot at redemption. But is he ready to die for that shot?

A fast-paced, pulpy thriller for fans of Jack Reacher and John Wick, OVER MY DEAD BODY is an all-new original graphic novel featuring characters from the acclaimed NEAR DEATH comic book series. ‘A killer crime book with a very sharp hook.’ -BRIAN K. VAUGHAN (SAGA, PAPER GIRLS).


I grew up reading the original Conan the Barbarian books. So these Omnibuses are great additions to the bookshelf of some of the classics.

Conan The Barbarian Original Marvel Years Vol 3 Omnibus – Frank Cho Cover

Battle runs through Conan’s life like the blood in his veins. A stint with the mercenary Crimson Company isn’t enough to quench his furor, but perhaps consorting with Bêlit, the pirate queen of the Black Coast, can.

Together she and Conan will reave across Hyboria’s high seas and into the dark depths of its jungles. There Conan will earn his honored name Amra in one of the Cimmerian’s greatest epics. Master storytellers Roy Thomas and John Buscema follow with a saga that brings Conan, Kull and even Red Sonja together.

All the while, the struggle to reclaim Bêlit’s title and lands from the Stygians carries on. Also featuring an Annual adaptation of Robert E. Howard’s first Conan tale and a massive trove of rare bonus material!

Collecting CONAN THE BARBARIAN (1970) #52-83, ANNUAL (1973) #2-3, POWER RECORDS #31 – CONAN THE BARBARIAN: THE CRAWLER IN THE MISTS and material from F.O.O.M. (1973) #14


Everyone should know by now that I absolutely enjoy War Stories, particularly those that depict true events.

D-Day Storming Fortress Europe

Join the invasion of Normandy with D-Day, a fully illustrated account of the Allied landing that changed the direction of World War II. The soldiers who stormed the beaches on June 6, 1944, paved the way for the liberation of Europe and forced Hitler to fight a war on two fronts.

One of the largest amphibious military offensives of all time, more than 4,000 troops lost their lives that day to free Europe from Hitler’s oppressive control.

See what it was like for Allied soldiers to exit their landing craft and wade through the water under machine gunfire and exploding mortars. Their sacrifice and ultimate victory turned the tide of the Second World War.

Leave a Comment