Poyo’s Spec and Drek for October 3rd, 2018

I should be settling into the hotel in NYC by the time this is posted. Is everyone attending ready for NYCC? Let us know in the comments if you plan on being there.

I’m getting here early to tool about the city some before the convention starts and will be planning on hitting up Midtown Comics Times Square Wednesday morning. Always wanted to experience new comic book day at Midtown and hopefully snag some great books.

DC/Vertigo Pick

This new DC blank book might be hit or miss but if you can get a known artist to fill in the pages with a full length comic for cheap, could be a great flip.

Another idea is to get some known Batman artists to do a new sketch on each page. Fill it up and could be a real money maker. Or better yet, get Lee Bermejo or other artists to draw some penises on each page and it’s a definite wiener.

I’m picking Batman over Superman and Wonder Woman just because I think there’s more Batman fans out there and it just seems there’s more demand for Batman overall.

Marvel Pick

I don’t think this will heat up but for fans of Viv Vision, Visions Daughter, this is a likely book to nab. Champions has a pretty small print run for a Marvel title and I doubt most shops even will carry this battle lines variant.

So this weeks pick is Champions #25 Jong-Ju Kim Battle Lines variant.

Another pick this week for me is Star Wars #55. Being a Darth Vader fanboy, this has classic written all over it. Vader with his hand extended over the rebel fleet fleeing in space is just a must have for the collection. Don’t forget to grab a copy of Deadpool #5 Nic Klein regular cover. Just a great looking cover for any Deadpool fan.

Indie Pick

William The Last #1 from Antarctic Press got my attention this week for a true independent experience.

It might not heat up but it certainly feels like it might be an interesting read. I really dig the cover art so if the rest of the book carries the same style and tone, I’m down.

Here’s the solicitation description for you to judge yourself:

A young boy grows up with his grandfather on a deserted island. Upon his grandfather’s death, he climbs to the top of the island mountain to find himself in a land where the people are in hiding, a tyrant rules, and his own name has been forbidden from being spoken. He is William the Last.

Small Publisher Pick

Umbrella Academy Hotel Oblivion #1 is hitting stands this week and there’s a Dark Horse convention exclusive (a Netflix series is coming soon as well) but my pick this week is for Death Orb #1.

Might be overlooked, could be under ordered and if the story and art is top notch, could be a winner down the road.

Dark Horse has had it’s fair of hit books, some making it to the screen (Hellboy, 300, Sin City). This one could be a hit, could be a dud. But it’s definitely a check out for me. Plus I just really like and are drawn to books with motorcycles in them and on the cover.


Now on with the dreaded “avoid” pick, every writer and artist worst nightmare when it comes to selling their hard work.

Maybe I’ll be wrong with this drek pick but I’m just not feeling Shatterstar #1 out from Marvel this week. Just doesn’t seem like a character that deserves his own title. I mean, come on, please comment below if you’re a fan of Shatterstar and demand he has his own title book?

For those not aware, Shatterstar made his first appearance in New Mutants #99, which is still pretty affordable.

Maybe Shatterstar was in the right place but wrong time being he appeared right after Deadpool made his first appearance in issue #98. If there is any heat, it’s going to be collectors picking up a copy of his first appearance.

If you do plan to pick up a copy of Shatterstar, please just don’t tell us if you’re gonna go after the Liefeld variant and if you do, please don’t tell us if you pay over cover for that awful looking cover. Please keep it to yourself or forever be ridiculed.

I mean, is it me or is the position of the face in the background between Shatterstar’s legs is just pretty darn awful? Peek-a-boo anyone?

Advertisements

About agentpoyo

I'm just a chicken, who loves hanging around ComicsHeatingUp.net and I also started LegosHeatingUp.com, a site I hope carries the same success for those that love and sell Legos.
This entry was posted in Comic books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Poyo’s Spec and Drek for October 3rd, 2018

  1. JayClue says:

    Im loving the Deadpool GPK cover swipe. Gold, Jerry.

    • agentpoyo says:

      Yeah, it’s a definite pickup as I was a long time GPK fan back as a kid. I’ll be picking mine up at Midtown Times Square tomorrow. 🙂

      • JayClue says:

        If you are in Times Square and are passing by the Marriot Marquis, take the time to step in and look up (or visit) the 6th floor bar. Its a giant cascading mirror back drop (approx 60 large mirrored panes), that overlooks the lobby from the 6th floor. I built it.

      • agentpoyo says:

        Staying in Hell’s Kitchen but will be around Times Square tomorrow to hit up Midtown, so I might have to check that out. I think after Midtown, I’m gonna make a day trip to the MET and Central Park, the amount of times I’ve been to NY I’ve been to neither.

  2. flockdeseagulls says:

    I’ll be at nycc thurs -sat maybe sunday

  3. A. King says:

    I have a copy of William the Last pre-ordered and like Rags I forgot to pre-order #2,

  4. Poka says:

    Agentpoyo – do you have any more copies of Rag #1 first print besides the ones you are selling on ebay? I am interested to buy. Tony has my contacts if interested

  5. Steven Garza says:

    I got a 2 Rags #1 that I was getting ready to sell on ebay as a lot that you are welcome too. Saves me the ebay fees and could help you out. I was going to put them up this weekend so LMK.

  6. OC_Guy says:

    I think Poyo secretly wants the Liefeld variant for his birthday.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s